Proposition E ICOC

Proposition E Independent Citizens Oversight Committee

The purpose of the Proposition E Independent Citizens Oversight Committee (ICOC) is to oversee the implementation of Proposition E, a $90 million general obligation bond measure. The duties of the ICOC members include ensuring that bond money is spent in compliance with the requirements of Proposition 39, which involves inspecting school facilities, reviewing expenditures and the District's efforts to maximize bond revenues by implementing cost savings measures, ensuring no funds are used for teacher or administrative salaries, reviewing the annual independent audit, and providing an annual report to the public at an open meeting of the Board of Education.  The ICOC is a review and oversight committee, it is not a decision-making body.

On June 20, 2018, the ICOC presented its fourth annual report to the Board of Education of the Chula Vista Elementary School District. For more detailed information about the Proposition E Bond, and past and current projects, please click here to view a copy of the report.

Regular Meetings:

The regular meeting of the Prop E ICOC originally scheduled for December 12, 2018, was postponed due to a power outage at the Chula Vista Elementary School District offices.  The meeting will now take place on December 17, 2018 at 6:00 p.m.

Future Meeting Dates and Times:

December 17, 2018, at 6:00 p.m.
March 13, 2019, at 6:00 p.m.
May 15, 2019, at 9:00 a.m.


Dr. Lowell J. Billings Board Room
Chula Vista Elementary School District
84 East "J" Street
Chula Vista, CA 91910

The agenda for each regular meeting will be posted no later than the Friday prior to the meeting. To view previous meeting agendas, approved minutes, and reports of the ICOC, please scroll down to the "Proposition E Documents" library located at the bottom of this page.

Members of the Proposition E ICOC

  • Jason C. Hurtado-Prater, Chair - Community At-Large Representative
  • Floyd R. Strayer, Vice Chair - Community At-Large Representative
  • Jolyn DePriest - Business Community Representative
  • Sean R. Dunbar - Taxpayers Association Representative
  • Dr. Diane Gerken - Business Community Representative
  • Mary I. Helvie - Senior Citizens Organization Representative
  • Martha Juarez - Parent Representative
  • Karyn Koenig - Parent Representative
  • Ben Lien - Parent Representative
  • Valerie Gerken Rios - Community At-Large Representative
  • James L. Smyth - Community At-Large Representative

Phone: (619) 425-9600, Ext. 1370

There are currently no vacancies on the ICOC.

Bylaws of the Proposition E ICOC.

On September 6, 2017, the Board of Education approved an amendment to Section 5.4 of the Bylaws pursuant to California Education Code Section 15282 allowing members to serve up to three consecutive two-year terms. Previously, members were only allowed to serve two terms.  Please click here to view the ICOC Bylaws.

Proposition E

With nearly 69% voter approval in the November 6, 2012, general election, Proposition E (Prop E) will allow the District to make substantial improvements to the educational environment at our neediest campuses. Prop E’s margin of victory represented the highest level of support for a general obligation bond on the ballot in San Diego County. Prop E will create a School Facilities Improvement District (SFID) encompassing 31 of our then-44 schools. Prop E was supported by groups such as the San Diego County Taxpayers Association, the Chula Vista Chamber of Commerce, the San Diego County Democratic Party (South Region), and many individual parent leaders and community organizations.

Schools in Series One, Modernized Summer 2014:

  • Castle Park Elementary (Principal Alicia Moreno)
  • Lilian J. Rice Elementary (Principal Ernesto Villanueva)
  • Rosebank Elementary (Principal Chris Vickers)

Schools in Series One, Modernized Summer 2015:

  • Ella B. Allen Elementary (Principal Sisi Garcia). 
  • Hilltop Drive Elementary (Principal Lisa Parker). 
  • Vista Square Elementary (Principal Marissa Allan). 

Schools in Series Two, Modernized Summer 2018:

  • Harborside Elementary Schools (Lisa Forehand)
  • Karl H. Kellogg Elementary School (Christopher Houck)
  • Montgomery Elementary School (Monica Ruiz)

Schools in Series Two, To Be Modernized Summer 2019:

  • Sunnyside Elementary School (Robert Cochran)

For more information, please call the Facilities Department (619) 425-9600, Extension 1420.

When available, information on bid opportunities can be found by clicking here.


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.